Skip to main content

DPI Governance Structure

Structures for the management of the DPI programme comprise of 3 levels; 

  1. The Leadership Committee
  2. The Programme Working Group (PWG) 
  3. The Technical Working Group (TWG)

These bring together government institutions (MDAS/LGs), development partners (DPs) and Civil Society Organizations (CSOs) at different levels to drive programme implementation. These are coordinated by a Secretariat that provides coordination and administrative support.

The Leadership Committee

The Leadership Committee (LC) consists of political leaders (Ministers, Board Chairpersons) of MDAs with a lead role in the activities of the Pro- gramme. The Committee has an oversight function over the programme implementation enabling policy level coordination and monitoring progress towards target programme outcomes. The Committee is also required to ensure accountability for results by PWGs. Membership of the Committee is as follows;

Minister, Finance, Planning and Economic Development (Chairperson)Minister, Office of the President Minister, OPM Minister, Local Governments Minister of Public Service Chairperson, NPA Board of Directors Chairperson, UBOS Board of Directors Auditor General Chairperson, URA Board of Directors

Programme Working Group

The Programme Working Group (PWG) is the highest technical organ of the Programme. The DPI PWG is chaired by the Permanent Secretary/ Secretary to the Treasury (PS/ST) with membership drawn from Permanent Secretaries, and Heads of Institutions of the programme contributing MDAS and representatives of Development Partner Groups, CSOs and Private Sector relevant to each Programme. 

The PWG is responsible for preparation of Programme Implementation Plans, preparation of Programme Budget Framework Papers (PBFPs), Quarterly, Semi-Annual and Annual Programme performance reports and the medium-term budget strategy documents and issuing them to the Leadership Committee for approval.

Technical Working Group

Due to the wide mandate of the PWG and the large number of member institutions involved, TWGs are created to provide special platforms to consider in a more comprehensive way, the sub-component areas of the programme. 

This therefore allows the PWGs to limit their discussion to strategic issues of the programme while at the same time ensuring adequate attention is given to the detail for each programme within the TWG. 

Membership to each TWG is cross-institutional, and includes, where necessary, external partners (DPs, Private Sectors) to engender detailed technical dialogue. TWGs are expected to undertake detailed planning and coordination, as well as detailed monitoring of programme implementation along specific programme objectives. Specifically, the 4 DPI TWGs are as follows;

TWG 1: Revenue Mobilisation and Budgeting

TWG 2: Development Planning, Research and Statistics

TWG 3: Oversight, Implementation, Coordination and Results Monitoring

TWG 4: Local Government